The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA), formerly known as the Indian Ocean Rim Initiative (IORI) and the Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Cooperation (IOR-ARC), is an international organisation consisting of 23 states bordering the Indian Ocean and 11 dialogue partners

Head Quarters: Ebene, Mauritius

The organisation was first established as Indian Ocean Rim Initiative in Mauritius in March 1995 and formally launched on 6–7 March 1997 by the conclusion of a multilateral treaty known as the Charter of the Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Co-operation

• Australia
• Bangladesh
• Comoros
• France
• India
• Indonesia
• Iran
• Kenya
• Madagascar
• Malaysia
• Maldives
• Mauritius
• Mozambique
• Oman
• Seychelles
• Singapore
• Somalia
• South Africa
• Sri Lanka
• Tanzania
• Thailand
• United Arab Emirates
• Yemen

The apex body of the IOR-ARC is the Council of (Foreign) Ministers (COM). The meeting of the COM is preceded by the meetings of the Indian Ocean Rim Academic Group (IORAG), Indian Ocean Rim Business Forum (IORBF), Working Group on Trade and Investment (WGTI), and the Committee of Senior Officials (CSO)

The IORA is a regional forum, tripartite in nature, bringing together representatives of Government, Business and Academia, for promoting cooperation and closer interaction among them. It is based on the principles of for strengthening Economic Cooperation particularly on Trade Facilitation and Investment, Promotion as well as Social Development of the region

The objectives of IORA are as follows:

1. To promote sustainable growth and balanced development of the region and member states
2. To focus on those areas of economic cooperation which provide maximum opportunities for development, shared interest and mutual benefits
3. To promote liberalisation, remove impediments and lower barriers towards a freer and enhanced flow of goods, services, investment, and technology within the Indian Ocean rim.

Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) has identified six priority areas, namely:

1. maritime security,
2. trade and investment facilitation,
3. fisheries management,
4. disaster risk reduction,
5. academic and scientific cooperation and
6. tourism promotion and cultural exchanges.

In addition to these, two focus areas are also identified by IORA, namely Blue Economy and Women’s Economic Empowerment