CSIP: PRELIMS BOOSTER SERIES – 233 International Organizations


World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is an intergovernmental organization that aims to establish a global partnership to build a weather- and climate-ready world for sustainable development. It was established in 1951 as the successor to the International Meteorological Organization, created in 1873.

WMO has 193 member states(including India) and operates in accordance with the WMO Convention, which provides a framework for international cooperation on the observation, understanding, and prediction of the Earth’s weather and climate.

  • Collecting and disseminating meteorological data from around the world
  • Providing weather forecasts and warnings
  • Supporting disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation
  • Working to improve the accuracy and reliability of weather forecasting
  • Promoting international cooperation on weather and climate issues

The World Meteorological Congress is the supreme body of WMO. The Executive Council implements its decisions, while six Regional Associations are responsible for the coordination of meteorological, hydrological and related activities within their respective Regions.

The Organization has a President and three Vice-Presidents who preside over Congress and of the Executive Council.  The Secretariat, headquartered in Geneva, is headed by the Secretary-General.